Established in 1848, FPC has a rich history in the Freeman community. Originally known as the Mount Pleasant Congregation of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, the church was located in Morristown. The original church building was located on what is now the Freeman Cemetery.
In 1882, the current building was built and the church officially became Freeman Presbyterian Church in 1956 when a petition was filed for incorporation. The existing structure has been expanded four times over the years, with the first addition being the current library area. Additional classrooms were built later on to expand for the growing congregation. The manse, now the youth building, was built in 1957 and the basement was added in 1960 along with the north classroom. The basement was expanded in 1967 to include the current dining area.
The church bell was removed from the bell tower in 1975 and relocated to the existing location in the back yard of the church. The most recent upgrades to the facility include fresh paint, a new roof, new heating and air system, and an updated handicap accessible bathroom.
In April 2016 the decision to demolish the manse was made because repairs were too costly. Our Church Life Center, frequently called God’s House, was completed in late 2019. The building offers a new space to allow our members to expand in our fellowship with one another, exciting new events to reach out to our local community, and, God willing, future events for our local youth to enjoy.
The Sanctuary was updated with a new ceiling, fresh paint, new flooring, and some handicap improvements in December 2020 with the final work being done in early January 2021.